Book Tour: Rock and a Hard Place by Angie Stanton + Excerpt and Giveaway

rockandahardplaceblogtour

Konstgjort Break

Konstgjort Break

Konstgjort Break

Title: Rock and a Hard Place
Series: The Jamieson Collection #1
Author: Angie Stanton
Publisher: HarperTeen

Amazon | Amazon UK
Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

Avdelare
Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Susane Colasanti, Angie Stanton's swoon-worthy romance--about an ordinary girl and a young rock star--will keep readers on the edge of their seats . . . and leave them wanting more.

In an instant, Libby's life went from picture-perfect to a nightmare. After surviving a terrible car accident, Libby is abandoned by her father and left with her controlling aunt. A new town, a new school, no friends--Libby is utterly alone. But then she meets Peter.

The lead singer in a rock band with his brothers, Peter hates that his parents overly manage his life. Constantly surrounded by family, Peter just wants to get away. And when he meets Libby, he's finally found the one person who just wants to be with him, not the rock star.

But while Peter battles his family's growing interference in both his music and personal life, Libby struggles with her aunt, who turns nastier each day. And even though Libby and Peter desperately want to be together, their drastically different lives threaten to keep them apart forever.

Here's an excerpt from the books, isn't Peter the sweetest?!

Peter and Libby sat atop the giant rock engulfed in the misty cool beauty of the glen. Peter reached over and held her hand. They relaxed, content in each other’s company. Peter ran his thumb over her fingers. Suddenly he paused and turned her hand over.

“What’s this?” He asked, innocently enough. “Nothing.”

She snatched her hand away, embarrassed.

“No, give it back.” He reached out and pulled her hand back into his two and examined the violent bumps. “What are all these marks?”

Her face heated at his question. “It’s nothing.” She tried to brush it off, but dread crept in.

“It’s not nothing, it looks like cuts.” He held tight to her hand as he examined it.

“You’re not a cutter are you?” He looked her straight in the eye.

“No! Now let go.” She tried to pull her hand away, but he wouldn’t release her.

Libby’s happiness spiraled down, the joy of the day gone. Too often the kids at school snickered ‘cutter’ to her back, just loud enough that she’d hear.

“Well, what happened?”

She understood why he asked. She might ask the same thing. Peter’s expression was honest concern, nothing more.

“They’re scars. From a car accident.” She bit her lip, not wanting to reveal another word.

“Oh God, that’s terrible.” He continued to study her permanently marred fingers and palm. “It must have been a really bad accident.”

“Yeah, it was,” she whispered as the image of the crumpled car and glow of ambulance lights flashed in her mind.

He peeked up at her past the heavy chunk of hair that covered his eyes. “You know, they look like little starbursts.”

“Whatever you say,” she replied, not seeing it.

“Give me the other one,” he commanded, as if her feelings weren’t involved.

For some reason she obeyed and extended her other hand. He examined both palms, lightly trailing his thumb and fingers over the surface of her skin. Shivers ran up her arms.

“No, they’re not starbursts.” He continued to touch each mark. “They’re angel kisses. It’s like angels kissed your hands all over.” His eyes rose to meet hers. They were filled with kindness and compassion. Something she had felt little of the past year.

Only Peter could turn the violent scars from a devastating accident into something beautiful. He was the sweetest person she’d ever met. Without another word, he lifted first one hand and then the other and kissed each little mark on her tender, scarred hands.

Libby’s mouth opened in wonder. Peter bent over her damaged hands. His soft lips pressed to them. His warm breath tickled her skin as his lips gently moved. Goosebumps danced up her arms and her stomach flipped. Never in her life had she felt this way. His tender kisses were heaven. She never wanted this moment to end. For once she thanked God for the ugly scars.

Giveaway

Want your own copy of Rock and a Hard Place? Enter the giveaway for a chance to win one of three copies. US only.

About the author:
Angie Stanton never planned on writing books, she wanted to be a Rockette. However, growing up in a rural setting with her brothers' 4-H pigs as pets, dance didn't work out. Instead she became an avid daydreamer. After years of perfecting stories in her head she began to write them down and the rest is history.

She loves dipping french fries in chocolate shakes, all natural disaster movies and Broadway Musicals. When not writing, Angie is concocting ways to make more dreams come true, whether it be tickets to a Broadway show or convincing her family they should rent an RV and travel the country. She's still working on that one.

Angie is a proud double finalist of the 2011 National Readers Choice Awards for Love 'em or Leave 'em, as well as a finalist for the Golden Quill Awards.

To reach Angie, contact her through Goodreads or by any method below!

Blog: Angiestanton.com
Facebook Author Page: Angie Stanton
Twitter: @Angie_Stanton

This tour is hosed by:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Waiting on Wednesday #43: Soundless by Richelle Mead

Waiting on Wednesday #44: Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis

Top Ten Tuesday #26: Books I Think Make Great Beach Reads